Naval History and Life

Bring Life Into Focus!!

                    

I have quite a few good dare I say brilliant ideas from time to time and in 2010 writing was one of them.  I had read this article by a reviewer in the Sunday Telegraph and having wanted to write for a long time decided it was now or never.  But what to write about? how to go about telling a story? So I decided to write about a subject I know about  Sailing ships! Royal Naval men of war frigaets, sloops all of them but in the 1700-1800’s as this way I could join history with society and the social acceptances of those times.

Writing with history is, in some ways, a blank page. As long as the historical facts are correct you can have fun, tell a raucous story, adventure is round every corner AS LONG AS THE HISTORICAL FACTS ARE RIGHT.  I have read books where ships of the line who not only didn’t exist but were never in that particular battle, fought alongside Nelson and others. It didn’t matter they were fictional, the story was told in such a way that not only you were there but you could see them there in your mind’s eye.  But these were purely naval adventure stories, I wanted to look at the lives of the men who lived on board. The women, wives even children – ships muster lists so informative – and tell the story of one man with plenty of bodice ripping in it to please the reviewer.

I suppose I also wanted to write for women, a love story with a strong handsome hero , the heroine not so chaste or timid but alive and lusty, hence Jason Watson was born and A Soldiers Wind took flight.

Writing also makes you think. You cannot write about times in other century’s with the mindset, morals, attitudes and eyes of modern-day.  Things were very different, people were different the way they looked at life was different.  If you were rich or had money you could live a comfortable life, possibly marry into nobility or at least a man with money, on the other hand if you were poor living hand to mouth or working on the land things were very different.  The Lord of the Manor had the right to sleep with a bride before her wedding day, or any woman who he fancied, it was also considered a sign of favor by the girls/woman’s family.

That said I very much enjoy my research and the actual writing of the story.  A Bengal Poppy (the second book in the series) takes a look at the East India Company and the Chinese will still not admit that they bought Opium from the East India Company for silver. (it was the only thing they would pay silver for) Here you find Jason up to his neck in war, battles, drugs and of course, his women.

My latest book in this series Tormented Loyalties is now out on kindle.

(c) Michael Douglas Bosc

 

 

About michaeldouglasbosc

I am retired and live with my wife on a small olive finca in the middle of a forest in the mountains of Spain in Catalonya. I served 9years in the armed services, am an engineer and because of my love of navy sailing ships a naval historian of the 1700-1800's, plus the author of 10 books. When I retired I started writing adult books my first being A Soldiers Wind. Then came Stanley's story again adult books such was his life. Another book on life in the 1950's this very much an adult book. I have now returned to my love of the sea and my latest navy book 'A Plymouth Story' follows the life of Dr James Blackstock. But Clearing In The Forest is an historical fantasy set in the middle ages at the end of King Johns reign. All the books are published on Kindle and Create a Space in paperback. I have worked all my life and for relaxation I sailed a coastal yacht for many years, but deep inside me was a writer waiting to get out. So when I retired I started writing I find story telling both relaxing and - for me - a pleasure.
This entry was posted in ecological, my books, observations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Naval History and Life

  1. Pingback: Naval History and Life | Michael Douglas Bosc

Leave a Reply

