One Author – Two Different Names??

Two Different Names

My dilemma was my author name.  I write adult books and naval adventure under Michael Douglas Bosc. But I could not write books for children under this name as people would think oh there will be a lot of adult content, they can’t be stories for children.  So I decided on Jason D’ebre as my author name for my children/young people’s books.

When writing for the younger generation you need to have a good imagination and a story where they can use their own imagination to picture what’s happening.  It must contain adventure, goodies and baddies, the odd bit of death and destruction and of course magic. The goodies may win, but the baddies must be bad and lose…..often especially if they are to appear again in further adventures before finally being killed off or sent packing back to…..

Today most things are what I call whoosh bang stories.  Blow it/them up make a lot of noise. It doesn’t matter too much if there is not a story as long as it is violent, and this troubled me a little.  So I decided to write a fantasy historical story based on actual events in history, a challenge in its own rights.  But young people need to read about their own and others history. Especially in these days of conflict because, believe it or not, despite what the politicians say Europe is entwined.  Kings married their offspring to other kings offspring thus making sure they had a connection with that country (a claim to that throne) even when they were fighting each other.

Take Britain (or England as it was then) they and the French were marrying into each others royal families but it did not stop them fighting.  And as for Germany well….. It is an unfortunate  fact that people only think of Hitler and the two wars, but the historical links go way back in time.

To The Books

One of the least written about periods in English history is the reign of King John. Because apart from him losing the crown jewels in the wash (which personally I do not believe), and when he was Prince John, nothing is really known about him.  What is known is that he was definitely not a nice man. His attitude was he could do what he wanted to whoever he wanted because he was the king. This and taxing everyone when he needed money were just two of the things the Norman Barons eventually got fed up with.

So I wrote Clearing in the Forest and Peaceful Land setting them in this period of English history where there was so much unrest, battles and general skull-duggery.  I enjoyed my research and found that I had plenty of scope and material. King Johns battle decisions and the evil doings of Philip of France and his sidekick the very evil Odo, added to my mix.  I then found John,Geoff and Ela the illegitimate children of a village woman and Norman Baron. Cast out of their home to fend for themselves when their mother died then chased away from their village and the stage is set.  Add to this a witch, some magic and the plot thickens. I also discovered what has kept Britain safe for hundreds of years.

I have to admit that when telling a story or writing about history you have to be as factual as you can.  A little ‘writers licence’ is ok but to try to change history to your view is not the way to go (take heed Hollywood). So I decided that as well as an adventure I would show what life was really like for the ordinary man, woman and child in those times.  And for those of you who have read the first two books the third is on its way.

                                    

 

The books are out on Kindle and Createspace. If you have Kindle Prime you can read them for free.  When you have read them please let me know your thoughts I would like to hear your feedback.

Jason D’ebre – Author

About michaeldouglasbosc

I am retired and live with my wife on a small olive finca in the middle of a forest in the mountains of Spain in Catalonya. I served 9years in the armed services, am an engineer and because of my love of navy sailing ships a naval historian of the 1700-1800's, plus the author of 10 books. When I retired I started writing adult books my first being A Soldiers Wind. Then came Stanley's story again adult books such was his life. Another book on life in the 1950's this very much an adult book. I have now returned to my love of the sea and my latest navy book 'A Plymouth Story' follows the life of Dr James Blackstock. But Clearing In The Forest is an historical fantasy set in the middle ages at the end of King Johns reign. All the books are published on Kindle and Create a Space in paperback. I have worked all my life and for relaxation I sailed a coastal yacht for many years, but deep inside me was a writer waiting to get out. So when I retired I started writing I find story telling both relaxing and - for me - a pleasure.
This entry was posted in ecological, my books, observations, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

